Food, it’s whats on my mind…

Monday, December 17, 2007

Yard House

Filed under: American — J.Quinn @ 10:47 am

330 East Colorado Blvd. #230, 91101.

The Yard House Restaurant is a chain servicing many states; and it is more of an American fusion than just American. I went there on my vacation to Cali earlier this season with some great friends. I usually try not to put myself in the pictures, but I couldn’t find another store front picture… so yeah.

The Yard House is not only known for their vast selection of food, but more so for their vast selection of draft beer, offered by the goblet, pint, or half yard. Of course I would not pass up such a deal, that is one of the main reasons I wanted to go. I ordered a sample of the Kona Longboard Lager from Hawaii and the Spaten Lager from Munich for $1 each. Back and forth I went… I think the Kona is sweeter, but the Spaten had less of an after tasted… So I went with the Spaten in the infamous half yard! That’s 1.5 feet or 18 inches or 32 oz.!

For appetizers we had the sweet potato fries with syrup dip. The fries were pretty good, but I don’t think that it was offered on the menu, you just kind of ask for it. Dip it in syrup and it felt more like a dessert than appetizer.

I ordered the Garlic Chicken Noodles; I really couldn’t decide on what to eat with their huge menu… so I just chose this one. I would love to go back to try out more dishes. The noodles were very garlic-y and Asian, had a very nice chewy texture, pretty good. Minced chicken, asparagus, spinach, shiitake mushrooms, smoked tofu, and edamame ~$14.25 I could barely finish my dish because… well, I was getting a buzz from my 32 oz. of Spaten… heh.

My friend had the Coconut Shrimp appetizer (what a wimp) and it was with spicy green papaya salad, sweet chili sauce, and cilantro pesto. The coconut shrimp was fried pretty well and brown ~$12.95

My other two friends shared the New York Steak Salad. It contains green beans, roasted peppers, avocado, crispy potatoes, red onion, and baby lettuce tossed in gorgonzola vinaigrette with beefsteak tomatoes and a pickled egg. On the side was the steak, I think perhaps a New York strip cooked medium rare, sliced thin~$16.45 I tried it and it was indeed tasty. Nothing like good ole steak.

The atmosphere was classical meets rock, nice and relaxing for any day after work. The prices are however a little steep, but the presentation of the food is above par. I would recommend a visit, and I heard from a friend that they are opening one in Houston, Texas March 2008… we shall see. Would definitely go there for the beer on draft.

|Yard House Homepage|

2 Comments »

  1. I have been surfing online more than three hours nowadays,
    yet I by no means found any fascinating article like yours.
    It is beautiful price enough for me. Personally, if all webmasters
    and bloggers made excellent content material as you probably did, the net will be much more helpful than
    ever before.

    Comment by buy cheap visitors — Wednesday, June 26, 2013 @ 6:17 pm | Reply

  2. Great weblog here! Also your site quite a bit up very
    fast! What web host are you using? Can I get your affiliate hyperlink to your host?
    I wish my website loaded up as fast as yours lol

    Comment by http://www.streetfire.net/profile/kirstenhomer.htm — Monday, September 15, 2014 @ 2:54 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.